Invited speakers

MTSA 2024 will feature a strong line-up of internationally leading experts presenting their recent work during the conference. The confirmed invited speakers (alphabetic order) include:

Cristina Benea-Chelmus (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland)
Integrated Terahertz Devices

Luc Bergé (Centre Lasers Intenses et Applications (CELIA) & Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives (CEA), France)
Ultrastrong terahertz pulses produced by relativistic laser-matter interactions

Jian Chen (Nanjing University, China)
Sensitive Superconducting Quantum Capacitance Detectors at Terahertz Wavebands

Tyler Cocker (Michigan State University, USA)
Atomic-scale terahertz time-domain spectroscopy

Jiaguang Han (Tianjin University, China)
Simultaneous Terahertz Emission and Manipulation Based on Nonlinear Metasurfaces

Frank Hegmann (University of Alberta, Canada)
Advances in ultrafast terahertz scanning tunneling microscopy

Manfred Helm (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), Germany)
Driving nanomaterials with a THz free-electron laser

Tae-In Jeon (Korea Maritime and Ocean University, Republic of Korea)
New applications of long-distance THz pulse propagation

Joachim Jonuscheit (Fraunhofer ITWM, Germany)
Thickness Measurement in an Industrial Environment

Tobias Kampfrath (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)
Terahertz spintronics: insights and applications

Toshihiro Kiwa (Okayama University, Japan)
Toward Terahertz pathology: Detection of cancer cells by a terahertz chemical microscope

Wojciech Knap (CENTERA, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
THz response of GaN/AlGaN 2D plasmonic nanostructures

Robert Kohlhaas (Heinrich-Hertz-Institute, Germany)
Towards photonic integrated THz systems on a chip

Petr Kužel (Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic)
Terahertz response of 3D graphene aerogels

Alfred Leitenstorfer (University of Konstanz, Germany)
Time-domain Experiments on Fluctuating Quantities: Photons and Spins

Yutong Li (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
Generation and applications of strong terahertz driven by high-intensity lasers

Weiwei Liu (Nakai University, China)
Micro-nano scale THz nonlinearity excited by femtosecond laser filamentation

Emma MacPherson (Warwick University, United Kingdom)
THz in vivo skin sensing – the largest study to date

Nicholas Matlis (German Electron Synchrotron DESY, Germany)
THz-powered linear accelerators

Fanqi Meng (Frankfurt University, Germany)
Interdigitated THz metamaterial sensors and high power THz emission from RTD arrays

Katsumi Midorikawa (RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics, Japan)
The third generation attosecond light source

Rebecca Milot (Warwick University, United Kingdom)
Terahertz Spectroscopy of Layered Metal Halide Perovskites

Bumki Min (Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology (KAIST), Republic of Korea)
Light-matter interactions in photonic temporal crystals

Hiroaki Minamide (RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics, Japan)
All-in-one system of backward terahertz-wave oscillator mountable on robots

Keith Nelson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA)
THz field-driven phonons and magnons probed with x-rays and 2D THz polarimetry

Chiko Otani (RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics, Japan)
Recent progress of terahertz sensing

Taiichi Otsuji (Tohuku University, Japan)
Terahertz plasmonic devices using graphene-based 2D materials

Tae Gyu Pak (DESY, Hamburg, Germany)
Multi-millijoule terahertz emission from relativistic plasmas

Hyeong-Ryeol Park (Ulsan National Institute of Science & Technology (UNIST), Republic of Korea)
Terahertz dynamics of two-dimensional water layer within nanoresonators

Shriganesh Prabhu (Tata Institute for Fundamental Research Mumbai, India)
Far-Field and Near-Field THz Spectroscopy of Materials

Dhanvir Singh Rana (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal (IISERB), India)
Terahertz magnon spintronics with non-collinear antiferromagnets

Fabian Rotermund (Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology (KAIST), Republic of Korea)
Recent progress in highly nonlinear organic crystals for THz wave generation

Michael Ruggiero (University of Rochester, USA)
Jumping Crystals – Terahertz Phonons Dictate Macroscopic Mechanical Dynamics in Organic Materials

Clara Saraceno (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)
Advanced 2.1-µm femtosecond laser technology for improved conversion to the THz region

Tom Siday (University of Oxford and University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
Subcycle optical spectroscopy at the atomic scale

Stefan Skupin (University of Lyon, France)
Ionization-Induced THz Emission

Joo-Hiuk Son (University of Seoul, Republic of Korea)
Terahertz demethylation for cancer therapy

Zachary Taylor (Aalto University, Finland)
THz frequency, Mie scattering of human cornea

Lyuba Titova (Worchester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
2D MXenes: THz spectroscopy and Applications

Masayoshi Tonouchi (Osaka University, Japan)
Terahertz Emission Spectroscopy and Imaging as a Quantitative Analytical Tool

Weili Zhang (Oklahoma State University, USA)
Metasurface-based manipulation of terahertz surface waves

Scroll to Top